Search This Blog

zondag 27 januari 2013

‘Argo’ wins at 2013 Producers Guild Awards; ‘Homeland,’ ‘Modern Family’ awarded on TV side

Argo continued its impressive run of the major Oscar precursor awards, picking up Best Film at the 2013 Producers Guild Awards has it moves into the lead of the race for Best Picture.

Despite Ben Affleck’s snub from the Best Director category for the 2013 Academy Awards, Argo has gone from hopeless case to odds-on favorite since the Oscar nominations were announced. After winning at both the Critics’ Choice Awards and the Golden Globes, the Producers Guild of America gave Argo their seal of approval as it took the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures.

In case you’re wondering, the last time a film won Best Picture at the Academy Awards without a Best Director nomination was 1990 for Driving Miss Daisy, the time before that? Grand Hotel in 1932. The Producers Guild Awards, meanwhile, have correctly predicted the Best Picture winner for the past five years.

Wreck-It Ralph picked up the Animation award, while Searching for Sugar Man won for Documentary. In the television category meanwhile, awards season darlings Homeland and Modern Family won for Drama and Comedy, respectively. Game Change took the long-form television award, while The Colbert Report won for Live Entertainment or Talk Show and The Amazing Race won for Competition Television.

The winners are:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures
Argo (Warner Bros.)
Producers: Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Grant Heslov

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures
Wreck-It Ralph (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
Producer: Clark Spencer

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures
Searching For Sugar Man (Sony Pictures Classics)
Producers: Malik Bendjelloul, Simon Chinn

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama
Homeland (Showtime)
Producers: Henry Bromell, Alexander Cary, Michael Cuesta, Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Michael Klick, Meredith Stiehm

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television
Game Change (HBO)
Producers: Gary Goetzman, Tom Hanks, Jay Roach, Amy Sayres, Steven Shareshian, Danny Strong

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy
Modern Family (ABC)
Producers: Cindy Chupack, Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeff Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television
American Masters (PBS)
Producers: Prudence Glass, Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television
The Amazing Race (CBS)
Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Elise Doganieri, Jonathan Littman, Bertram van Munster, Mark Vertullo

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television
The Colbert Report (Comedy Central)
Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program
Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel (HBO)

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program
Sesame Street (PBS)

The Award for Outstanding Digital Series
30 Rock: The Webisodes